Tsa pre – Notes

My wife and I just signed up for TSA pre and I thought I’d share some notes on the experience.

  • You signup online at http://www.tsa.gov/tsa-precheck
  • Make sure you do the Pre-Enroll process – it will save you time when you go to Lambert airport. For some reason, I couldn’t do this initially. I made the appointment and then had to go back in do the pre-enroll. My wife however had no problem.
  • Also make an appointment – just in case. It turns out that we didn’t need it as there was literally no one there when we arrived.
  • In the St. Louis airport, it’s on the main floor close to the metro station – they have good signage.
  • The cost is $85 – non-refundable. It’s good for 5 years.
  • You will need to use a credit card – no cash or checks accepted.
  • You also need to bring a passport or birth certificate.
  • The only problem with the whole process is that it was hard for them to get a good scan of my fingerprints. Wash your hands well before you arrive. My wife had the same problem.
  • It will take up to 21 days for them to approve you.
  • You don’t get a card, only a number.
  • When you get your number, go to all the airlines you use and change your profile to include the Known Traveler Number.

NOTE – while I got my number withing three weeks, my wife took two months to get her number because they had trouble getting good finger prints from her.

TIP – make sure your TSA name and your airline information match. If you use a middle name with TSA, make sure that your airline reservations have that middle name also.

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.

Posted on January 8, 2015, in Airlines. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

