Back Pain – Here’s What I Do

bad-backI had a friend ask for some help with the back pain he has been feeling for the past 4 weeks. Here’s my response to him which might help you also.

First off, there are NO quick fixes. You will probably get better on your own in a matter of weeks or months.

Before you even consider an operation, you need to go through rehab, shots, ice, massage, chiropractic etc. I even tried acupuncture, but it didn’t help.

The basic formula right after you injure yourself is R.I.C.E. Rest, Ice Compression and Elevation. Don’t put heat on for the first day or two.

Here’s my basic formula for back pain prevention and relief.

  • REI – Thermorest inflatable seat cushion. I use this on the plane to give my back some support. You can blow it up just to your liking. I also have one in my car so that everywhere I go I can take it with me.
  • Walmart – Thermipaq – you have to put this in your luggage, but then wherever you arrive – put it in a freezer for use any time you get a chance.
  • Heat – you can also use the Thermipaq as a way to bring some heat to your back. Test both the ice and heat and see which works best for you.
  • Airline – if you have to travel, get up and move around every hour or so.
  • Prescription anti-inflammatories + Tylenol. Use them both.
  • Rehab – go to a rehab facility at some point to find out what exercises and stretching you need to do to help your back.
  • Biofreeze – something like Ben Gay. They even have a version you can bring on a plane.
  • Supplements – try Glucosamine sulfate, MSM, Boswelia, Tumeric/Curcumin.
  • Foods – Cherries – I also drink cherry juice.
  • Prescription pain pills from your doctor. I normally don’t have to take these, but it’s nice to have them just in case.
  • Position – find the position where you feel most comfortable.
  • Chairs – the first thing I do when I walk into a new room is look for the most comfortable chair. I hate the metal folding chairs – to me they are more like medieval torture devices.
  • Working on the Couch  – I’ve found that I can lay on a couch with pillows under my legs and use this with a laptop to get work done.
  • Light Exercise and Stretching – I start every day with stretching and usually do some form of walking.
  • Massage – I get a back massage every two weeks. It helps to keeps the muscles loose.
  • Chiropractic – it may help. Give it a try.
  • Cortisone shots – sometimes they help – usually a series of three shots.
  • Surgery – go to at least two doctors – neurosurgeon and orthopedic – try the least invasive surgery first. I’ve had that type twice and it helped me both times.
  • A friend recommended Lidocaine patches. I’ve never tried these, but it’s another option.

 

Image courtesy of stockimages at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Health. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for you thoughts – I do use tumeric and omega 3 in addition to others.
    I’m never quite sure what works, but I”m not getting worse.
    I’m using cherries and cherry juice lately as they are also supposed to help.

Leave a Reply

