How to Secure a TV From Tipping Over

tv-injuries

I saw a recent news item saying that 41 kids this year were killed by TVs and heavy furniture falling on them. I decided to see if I could make my own device to secure my TV’s.

http://www.cpsc.gov/cpscpub/prerel/prhtml13/13066.html

TV-Support--01

Here’s my end result – now I’ll tell you what it involves.

The first thing I noticed was that my Samsung TV had four large bolt holes – the  question was, “What size bolt do I need?” After doing a bit of googling, I decided on an M8 bolt. I went to the hardware store, bought four and tried to install them – no luck. They would not screw into the back of my TV.

TV-Secure-hex-bolt

I went back to the store and found out that there are two different types of M8 bolts – 1.00 or 1.25. The difference is the type of thread on each bolt. I tried M8-1.25 and it was perfect.

My next consideration was how to attach something to the TV. I found some nice webbing on Amazon and bought two kinds to test each out. The thinner and less expensive webbing works just fine.

TV-Support--grommet

I also bought a 3/8 inch grommet kit to make grommets for the webbing. I heated up the grommet cutter and used it to melt the hole for the grommet.

To attach the webbing to the cabinet, I heated a nail and punched a hole in the webbing where it would attach to the cabinet. I then drilled a small pilot hole in the cabinet and used a 1 1/8″ drywall screw and a washer to secure the webbing to the cabinet.
TV-Support--nail

TV-Support--cabinet

I did leave a little slack in the webbing just in case I needed to turn the TV slightly.

This solution is only meant from keeping kids from pulling the TV over onto themselves. It is not meant as an earthquake solution.

Note – I’ve found a product on Amazon which will do basically the same thing. It’s the Kidco Anti-Tip-TV-Strap-Pack.

++++++++++++++++++++

Another more simple option is to buy a TV Mounting kit and attach it to the wall. Even if you don’t plan on using the kit to hold the TV, it will keep it from falling over. Here’s a kit I ordered from Amazon for only $28. This particular kit is for smaller TV’s. I’m using this solution for the basement TV.

tv-secure-04

About Tom Terrific

Interested in MANY things.

Posted on December 19, 2012, in Emergency, Safety. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

